2022 Pipeline Conference

Every two years, the Epilepsy Foundation holds its Pipeline Conference to showcase the latest developments in the epilepsy’s pipeline from pre-clinical to right before approval by the FDA. The conference provides a forum for surveying new therapies in development, exploring advancements, and encouraging collaboration and partnerships.

This year’s Pipeline Conference took place June 5-6, 2022, both virtually and in-person at the Santa Clara Marriot in Santa Clara, California. Industry leaders and decision-makers from around the world shared ideas and provided insights in the field of epilepsy treatment, therapeutic innovation, and product development.

Watch Sessions from the 2022 Pipeline Conference

Videos of various sessions were granted prepared now available to watch. To view the available sessions, click links in the agenda below.

Day 1 – Sunday, June 5, 2022

Welcome And Introduction

  • Jacqueline French MD, Chief Medical and Innovation Officer, Epilepsy Foundation
  • R. Edward Hogan, MD, President, American Epilepsy Society
  • Helen Cross, MD, President, International League Against Epilepsy

Session I: Impact of Covid on Clinical Trials

Moderator: Kimford Meador MD, Professor, Department of Neurology and Neurological Sciences, Stanford University School of Medicine

  • Patient/Caregiver Perspective – Kim Nye, TESS Research Foundation
  • Panel Discussion: Is COVID Helping or Hurting Drug Development? with Jacqueline French, MD as moderator and the following panelists:
    • R. Edward Hogan, MD, President, American Epilepsy Society
    • Elaine Wirrell, MD, Mayo Clinic
    • Kathryn Davis, MD, University of Pennsylvania
    • Lilly Frohlich, MPH, Cerevel Therapeutics
    • Kim Nye, TESS Research Foundation
  • Remote Trial Design – Penny Randall, MD, MBA, IQVIA

Session II: Pre-clinical Pipeline

Moderator: Pavel Klein, MD, FAES, FAAN, PrevEP, Inc.

  • BL-001 (drug candidate)/IrisRx Platform – Chris Reyes, PhD, Bloom Scienc
  • Preclinical Data Supporting the Efficacy of OV329, A Next-Generation GABA Aminotransferase Inhibitor, Against Seizures – Julia Tsai, PhD, Ovid

Session III: Personalized Medicine: How Far Have We Come And Where Are We Going?

Moderator: Brandy Fureman PhD, Chief Outcomes Officer, Epilepsy Foundation

Session IV: Pipeline for Gene Based Therapies

Moderator: Dennis Dlugos, MD, MSCE, Professor of Neurology and Pediatrics, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

Session V: Digital/Device

Moderator: Robert Fisher, MD, PhD, Professor and Director, Stanford Epilepsy Center

Shark Tank Competition

Moderator: Tom Stanton, Danny Did Foundation

  • 2021 Community Prize Winner Update: An Epilepsy Self-Management and Resilience Technical App (SMART) for Adolescents & Their Community – Deborah Koltai, PhD, Duke University
  • 2021 Investment Award Winner Update: Generalized Tonic-Clonic Seizure Detection with Video and Radar - Tobias Loddenkemper, MD, Miku


  • Kathryn Davis, MD, University of Pennsylvania
  • Brandy Fureman, PhD, Epilepsy Foundation
  • R. Edward Hogan, MD, American Epilepsy Society
  • David B. Moore, MD, McFarland Clinic
  • Noah Richmond, JD, PhD, Verily Life Sciences

Community Impact Award Finalists

Investment Award Finalists

Accelerator Award Presentation

  • Award Presentation – Jacqueline French, MD, Epilepsy Foundation
  • 2022 May Liang & James Lintott Scholarship Recipients
    • Wesley Kerr, MD, PhD, University of Michigan
    • Katie Ihnen, MD, PhD, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital
  • 2022 Epilepsy Foundation Lifetime Accelerator Award
    • Lynn Kramer, MD, FAAN, Chief Clinical Officer, Neurology Business Group, Eisai

Day 2 – Monday, June 6, 2022


  • The Digital Imperative: Serving the Epilepsy Foundation – Laura Thrall, President & CEO, Epilepsy Foundation

Session VI: New Technology Adoption

Moderator: R. Edward Hogan, MD, President, American Epilepsy Society

Session VII: Devices

Moderator: Hina Dave, MD, Assistant Professor, UT Southwestern Medical Center

Session VIII: Creating Equitable and Informative Trials

Moderator: Caitlin Grzeskowiak, PhD, Senior Director, Research and Innovation, Epilepsy Foundation

Session IX: Clinical Drugs

Moderator: Jacqueline French, MD, Chief Medical and Innovation Officer, Epilepsy Foundation

Thank You to Our 2022 Pipeline Sponsors

Innovative Sponsor

SK Life Science logo

Explorer Sponsors

Eisai logo
Jazz Pharmaceuticals logo
Longboard Pharmaceuticals logo
Neurelis logo
Sunovion logo
UCB logo
Zogenix logo

Pioneer Sponsors

Aquestive logo
Biocodex logo
Danny Did logo
Engrail logo
Marinus Pharmaceuticals logo
Ovid Therapeutics logo
Pediatric Epilepsy Research Foundation logo
Praxis logo
Takeda logo

Sign Up for Emails

Stay up to date with the latest epilepsy news, stories from the community, and more.