Our Leadership


The Epilepsy Foundation leads the fight to overcome the challenges of living with epilepsy and to accelerate therapies to stop seizures, find cures, and save lives.

We are fortunate to have an amazing cross-section of volunteer leaders, dedicated staff, and professional advisors.

The Board of Directors of the Epilepsy Foundation is responsible for governance and has fiduciary responsibility for the success of the organization and mission.

    • Jeff Parent, Chair
      President and General Manager at Gulf States Toyota
    • Courtney Genosi Watson, Vice Chair
      Senior VP, Government Relations at Parsons Corporation
    • Mark Theeuwes, Secretary
      President and CEO at Receptor Life Sciences
    • Daniel Moore, Treasurer
      Chairman at LivaNova, PLC
    • Alison Zetterquist, Acting / Interim CEO of the Epilepsy Foundation
      Epilepsy Foundation New England (Board Vice Chair)
    • Camila Coelho
    • Founder & Designer of Camila Coelho Collection
    • Eli Corbett
      General Counsel & CCO at Petal Card, Inc.
    • Curtis Deprey
      Midwest Select Insurance Group LLC
    • Abe Glaser
    • Silverleaf Wealth Management
    • Josh Golden
      Chief Marketing Officer at Quad
      New York
    • David Hawk
      CEO and Chairman at Hawk Investments, L.P.
    • Ali Heron
      Chief Technology Officer at Petal
      New York
    • Sarah Klein
      CEO of the Epilepsy Foundation of Colorado
    • Wasim Q. Malik, PhD
      Managing Partner at Iaso Ventures
    • Greg Mayes
      CEO of Antios Therapeutics
      New Jersey
    • James J. McAlpin, Jr
      Partner at Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP
    • Michael McDonnell
      Partner at Kutak Rock, LLP
    • David B. Moore, MD
      Epileptologist at McFarland Clinic
    • Noah Richmond, JD, PhD
      Senior Counsel at Verily Life Sciences
    • Angelica Roiz
      Partner at Grant Thornton, LLP
    • Ron Shimabuku
      Program Manager at Kamehameha Schools
    • Matt Tifft
      Co-Owner of Live Fast Motorsports, Inc.
      North Carolina
    • Rebekah Walker
    • Mary Weldon
      Stacy Gallo Casting
      New Jersey

    The Professional Advisory Board (PAB) is composed of epilepsy experts across a wide range of medical disciplines. The PAB provides strategic and creative direction across the Epilepsy Foundation's portfolio of programs, services and initiatives. The PAB also provides expert advice and advocacy support for mission-focused state and federal issues involving people with epilepsy, including access to care and regulatory concerns.

      • Alison Pack, MD, MPH - Chair
        New York, NY
      • Wendy Miller, PhD, RN, CCRN – Chair Elect
        Indianapolis, IN
      • Nicholas Abend, MD
        Philadelphia, PA
      • Sasha Alick-Lindstrom, MD
        Dallas, TX
      • Deepti Anbarasan, MD
        New York, NY
      • Amir Arain, MD
        Salt Lake City, UT
      • Michelle Bell, MD
        New York, NY
      • Carrin Brandt, MS
        Washington, DC
      • Mark Callow, MD
        Cincinnati, OH
      • Stephanie Chen, MSN, MPH
        Glendale, AZ
      • Severn B. Churn
        Bethesda, MD
      • Kathryn Davis, MD, MS, FAES
        Philadelphia, PA
      • Dennis Dlugos, MD, MSCE
        Philadelphia, PA
      • Julia Doss, PsyD, LP
        Minneapolis, MN
      • Daniel Fain, MD, FAAN
        Grand Rapids, MI
      • Patrick Forcelli, PhD
        Washington, DC
      • Daniel Friedman, MD
        New York, NY
      • Monisha Goyal, MD
        Birmingham, AL
      • L. John Greenfield, Jr., MD, PhD
        Farmington, CT
      • Sanjeet Grewal, MD
        Jacksonville, FL
      • Susan T. Herman, MD
        Phoenix, AZ
      • Lawrence J. Hirsch, MD
        New Haven, CT
      • Aatif M. Husain, MD
        Durham, NC
      • David King-Stephens, MD
        New Haven, CT
      • Sookyong Koh, MD, PhD
        Omaha, NE
      • Linda Leary, MD
        San Antonio, TX
      • Samden Lhatoo, MD
        Houston, TX
      • Thomas J. McCarrier, Reg EMT-Intermediate
        Stevens Point, WI
      • Danielle McDermott, MD, MS, FAES
      • William McMullen, PhD, ABPP-CN
        San Francisco, CA
      • Mary Nasuta, RN, MS, NCSN
        Bel Air, MD
      • Lorraine Newborn-Palmer, DNP, RN, ACNS-BC, CNRN, CBIS
        Baltimore, MD
      • Edward J. Novotny, Jr., MD, FACNS, FAAN, FAES
        Seattle, WA
      • Joffre Olaya, MD
        Orange, CA
      • Archana Pasupuleti, MD
        Washington, DC
      • Patricia Penovich, MD
        St. Paul, MN
      • M. Scott Perry, MD
        Fort Worth, TX
      • Angela Peters, MD
        Salt Lake City, UT
      • Ignacio L. Pita Garcia, MD
        San Juan, PR
      • Annapurna Poduri, MD, MPH
        Boston, MA
      • John Schreiber, MD
        Washington, DC
      • Stephan Schuele, MD, MPH
        Chicago, IL
      • Chris Shandera
        Boise, ID
      • Ashwini Sharan, MD
        Philadelphia, PA
      • Beth Sheidley, MS, CGC
        Boston, MA
      • David Spencer, MD
        Portland, OR
      • Bethany Thomas, MSN, CRNP
        Philadelphia, PA
      • Pat Trudeau, R.EEG T., CLTM
        Marshfield, WI
      • Sumeet Vadera, MD
        Orange, CA
      • Mary Zupanc
        Madison, WI

      The following committed staff leaders direct the Epilepsy Foundation's dedicated professional team who work tirelessly to stop seizures and SUDEP, find a cure, and overcome the challenges created by epilepsy through efforts including education, advocacy, and research to accelerate ideas into therapies.

        Our Staff Leadership
        • Alison Zetterquist
          Interim Chief Executive Officer
        • Brandy Fureman, PhD
          Chief Outcomes Officer
        • Rahel Rosner
          Chief Financial and Operations Officer
        • Jacqueline French, MD
          Chief Medical and Innovation Officer
        • Lidia Moura, MD, MPH, PhD
          Chief Health Informatics Officer
        • Mike Cantagallo
          Vice President, Development
        • Kathleen Farrell, MB, BCH, BAO
          Vice President, Public Health and Outcomes
        • Nathan DeVault
          Vice President of Marketing and Communications
        • David-Alexandre Jost
          Vice President, Digital Strategy
        • Gregg Fort
          Vice President, Regional Teams
        • Danielle Solomon
          Vice President, Human Resources
        • Laura Weidner
          Vice President of Government Affairs and Advocacy
        • Caro Brown
          Senior Director of Finance


        Epilepsy Centers

        Epilepsy centers provide you with a team of specialists to help you diagnose your epilepsy and explore treatment options.

        Epilepsy Medication

        Find in-depth information on anti-seizure medications so you know what to ask your doctor.

        Epilepsy and Seizures 24/7 Helpline

        Call our Epilepsy and Seizures 24/7 Helpline and talk with an epilepsy information specialist or submit a question online.

        Tools & Forms

        Download our seizure tracking app, print out seizure action plans, or explore other educational materials.