State Driving Laws Database

Driver Information By State

Every state regulates driver's license eligibility of persons with certain medical conditions. The most common requirement for people with epilepsy is that they be seizure free for a specific period of time and submit a physician's evaluation of their ability to drive safely. Another common requirement is the periodic submission of medical reports, in some states for a specified period of time and in others for as long as the person remains licensed.

Select the state you want to find information about, or if you are moving and would like to compare two states' driving laws side by side? Choose the two states below to compare.

LawColorado
DMV Appeal of License DenialYes
Doctors to Report EpilepsyNo
Periodic Medical Updates Required After Licensing At discretion of DMV
Seizure-Free PeriodNo set seizure-free period

Colorado Driver Licensing Laws

Colorado has no set seizure-free period; however, the state requires that each driver license applicant disclose a physical disability that would cause a lapse of consciousness. Colorado law allows the department to seek medical opinion from any physician, physician’s assistant or optometrist in the state to determine if a licensed driver or applicant for a driver’s license is physically and mentally able to drive safely. [COLO. REV. STAT. § 42-2-112(1) (2010)]. Medical opinions may only be sought if the department has reason to believe that the driver or applicant is physically or mentally unable to drive safely. [§ 42-2-112(1) (2010)]. No civil or criminal action may be brought against a physician, physician’s assistant or optometrist for providing a report to the department, if they acted in good faith. [§ 42-2-112(3) (2010)]. The medical information is reviewed by the Driver License office supervisor [COLO. REV. STAT. § 42-2-112]. Depending on the recommendations of the physician, the person may be issued a regular license, a restricted license, or no license at all. Each case is assessed individually. An individual whose license is cancelled may request a hearing within 30 days of the cancellation. [COLO. REV. STAT. § 42-2-122(3) (2010)]. An individual may obtain judicial review of a decision to deny or suspend a license within thirty days [COLO. REV. STAT. § 42-2-135 (2010)].

Commercial Driving

An individual must receive a medical waiver before he or she may be licensed to drive commercial vehicles if the individual has a disqualifying medical condition. [1 COLO. CODE REGS. § 204-12(D)(3) (2011)]. A person with epilepsy may be considered for a license to drive a taxi, bus or school bus if the applicant provides a physician's certification regarding treatment and recommendation requiring a degree of certainty that the condition is controlled well enough to drive safely.

Colorado Identification Card

Colorado residents may obtain an identification card through the Motor Vehicle Division of the Department of Revenue. [COLO. REV. STAT. § 42-2-302 (1)(a)(I) (2011)]. The application fee for adults under 60 years of age is nine dollars and ninety cents. [ § 42-2-306 (1)(a)(II)]. For those 60 years of age and older there is no application fee. [§ 42-2-306 (1)(a)(II)].

Colorado Reporting

No provision in the Colorado statutes require physicians to report patients who have been treated for or diagnosed with epilepsy. However, physicians may report patients who have a medical condition which may affect their ability to safely operate a motor vehicle.

© 2014 Epilepsy Foundation. All rights reserved. This summary was developed for informational purposes by the Epilepsy Foundation and reflects a review of data available as of August 2014. Information is subject to change. This summary is not a substitute for legal advice. For further information, please consult your state Department of Motor Vehicles.

Our Mission

The mission of the Epilepsy Foundation is to lead the fight to overcome the challenges of living with epilepsy and to accelerate therapies to stop seizures, find cures, and save lives.

 
24/7 helpline