Utah

Driver Information By State

Every state regulates driver's license eligibility of persons with certain medical conditions. The most common requirement for people with epilepsy is that they be seizure free for a specific period of time and submit a physician's evaluation of their ability to drive safely. Another common requirement is the periodic submission of medical reports, in some states for a specified period of time and in others for as long as the person remains licensed.

Select the state you want to find information about, or if you are moving and would like to compare two states' driving laws side by side? Choose the two states below to compare.

LawUtah
DMV Appeal of License DenialYes
Doctors to Report EpilepsyNo
Periodic Medical Updates Required After Licensing At discretion of Medical Advisory Board
Seizure-Free Period3 months, with exceptions

Utah Driver Licensing Laws

To be considered for a non-commercial operator's license, an individual should be seizure-free on or off medications without side effects for at least 3 months. Driving restrictions may also be imposed, if recommended by the medical advisory board. If the seizures are nocturnal or are partial (never producing an impairment in consciousness), the applicant may be exempt from driving restricts as long as the seizures are consistent in type and completely restricted. Special consideration may be given on appeal for seizures resulting from administration of medications known to cause seizures. The Department has created eight safety assessment levels regarding the circumstances (i.e. period seizure free) and whether or not a medical report and interval for review are required. 

Individuals must refrain from driving if there is uncertainty due to a physical, mental or emotional impairment which may affect driving safety. UTAH ADMIN. CODE r. 708-7-5(1)(A) (2020). This is meant to include side effects of medication or associated problems that may affect driving safety. Individuals who apply for or hold a license and have, develop, or suspect that they have developed a physical, mental, or emotional impairment, or associated side effects, which may affect driving safety, are responsible for reporting this to the Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division. UTAH ADMIN. CODE r. 708-7-5(1)(C) (2020). Restricted licenses are available. UTAH CODE ANN. § 53-3-304(2)(a) (2020). An individual who falsifies information about a medical condition on their application may have the license suspended for misrepresentation. An individual whose license has been denied for medical reasons is distinguished from those whose license has been suspended or revoked for driving violations.

Appeals may be made through the Medical Program Coordinator and then to the Medical Advisory Board for recommendations. A person whose license has been denied, suspended or revoked may request a review of the department's action by the panel. The request must be in writing and submitted within ten days of receiving notice of the action. UTAH ADMIN. CODE r. 708-7-7(2) (2020); UTAH CODE ANN. § 53-3-303(10)(a) (2020). Judicial review is available. UTAH CODE ANN. § 53-3-303(11)(a) (2020).

Commercial Driving

Utah has adopted the medical standards of the federal Department of Transportation for granting commercial driver licenses. UTAH CODE ANN. § 53-3-303.5(2) (2020). However, an intrastate commercial license may be issued depending upon the individual’s degree of seizure control. State of Utah Functional Ability In Driving: Guidelines and Standards for Health Care Professionals (November 2006 ed.).

Utah Identification Card

Utah residents may obtain an identification card at a Department of Public Safety examining station by presenting a birth certificate and social security card. An identification card for a person with a disability is $18.00. If an individual becomes unable to drive and voluntarily surrenders their driver’s license, an identification card may be obtained at no charge.

Utah Reporting

There is no provision requiring health care professionals to report their patients. UTAH ADMIN. R. 708-7-6 (2020). However, "Any physician or other person who becomes aware of a physical, mental or emotional impairment which appears to present an imminent threat to driving safety and reports this information to the Department of Public Safety, through its agents, in good faith shall have immunity from any damages claimed as a result of so doing.”. UTAH CODE ANN. § 53-3-303(14)(c) (2020).

 

© 2020 Epilepsy Foundation. All rights reserved. This summary was developed for informational purposes by the Epilepsy Foundation and reflects a review of data available as of August 2020. Information is subject to change. This summary is not a substitute for legal advice. For further information, please consult your state Department of Motor Vehicles.

Our Mission

The mission of the Epilepsy Foundation is to lead the fight to overcome the challenges of living with epilepsy and to accelerate therapies to stop seizures, find cures, and save lives.

 
24/7 helpline
P