We value open-innovation and seek strategic partnerships from academia, industry, government and our community to advance promising discoveries from the laboratory into the lives of people with epilepsy. This belief is reflected in our team, composed of different stakeholders, which assists in defining the challenge topics.

Ei2 Leadership Team at the Epilepsy Foundation

Sonya B. Dumanis, PhD
Senior Director of Innovation, Epilepsy Foundation

Phil Gattone, MEd
President & CEO, Epilepsy Foundation 

Robert (Bob) Smith, MBA
Chair, Board of Directors, Epilepsy Foundation 

Jackie French, MD
Chief Scientific Officer, Epilepsy Foundation 
Professor, Department of Neurology, New York University

Brandy Fureman, PhD
Vice President of Research and New Therapies, Epilepsy Foundation 

Daniel Fischer, MBA
Patient Advocate

Angel Hernandez, MD
Chair of Professional Advisory Board, Epilepsy Foundation 
Chief, Division of Neurosciences, Helen DeVos Hospital, Grand Rapids Michigan

Stephen (Steve) Collins, MD, PhD
Chair of Business Advisory Board 
Chief Executive Officer and President at Biscayne Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

Rebekkah Halliwell
Local Epilepsy Foundation Representative, Executive Director of Epilepsy Foundation Greater Los Angeles

Advisory Group

Nathan Fountain, MD
Professor of Neurology, University of Virginia

John Huguenard, PhD
Professor of Neurology & Neurological Sciences, Stanford University

Laura S. Lubbers, PhD
Chief Scientific Officer, Citizens United for Research in Epilepsy (CURE)

Galit Pelled, PhD
Professor, Biomedical Engineering, Radiology and Neuroscience, Chief, Division of Neuroengineering, Institute for Quantitative Health Science and Engineering, Michigan State University

Manisha Patel, PhD
Professor, Department of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Colorado

Penny Dacks, PhD
Director, Research, American Epilepsy Society (AES)

Robert S. Fisher, MD, PhD
Maslah Saul MD Professor, Director of the Epilepsy Center, Stanford University 

Ivan Soltesz, PhD
James R. Doty, Professor of Neurosurgery and Neurosciences, Stanford University

Wendy Miller, PhD, RN
Representative for People Living with Epilepsy

Jenniafer Walters
Representative for People Living with Epilepsy

Vicky Holets Whittemore, PhD
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)

Chuck Sabino
Eisai Company, Ltd.