2018 Epilepsy Pipeline Conference

Watch Community Day of the 2018 Edition of the Epilepsy Foundation Conference, Live from San Francisco on Saturday, February 24


The Professional Advisory Board (PAB) is composed of epilepsy experts across a wide range of medical disciplines. The PAB provides strategic and creative direction across the Epilepsy Foundation's portfolio of programs, services and initiatives. The PAB also provides expert advice and advocacy support for mission-focused state and federal issues involving people with epilepsy, including access to care and regulatory concerns.


  • Christianne N. Heck, MD
    Los Angeles, California


  • Angel W. Hernandez, MD
    Grand Rapids, Michigan


  • David M. Ficker, MD, FAAN
    Cincinnati, Ohio


  • Anne E. Anderson, MD
    Houston, Texas
  • Nikesh Ardeshna, MD
    Chattannoga, Tennessee
  • Miya Asato, MD
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
  • Gregory K. Bergey, MD
    Baltimore, Maryland
  • Carrin Brandt, MS 
    Washington, District of Columbia
  • Donna K. Broshek, PhD
    Charlottesville, Virginia
  • Rochelle Caplan, MD
    Los Angeles, California
  • Paul Carney, MD
    Chapel Hill, North Carolina
  • Stephanie Chen, MSN, MPH
    Phoenix, Arizona
  • Sandra Cushner-Weinstein, PT, LICSW, LCSW-C
    Washington, D.C.
  • Julie Doss, PsyD, LP
    St. Paul, Minnesota
  • Daniel Friedman, MD
    New York, New York
  • L. John Greenfield, Jr., MD, PhD
    Farmington, Connecticut
  • Michael Gruenthal, MD, PhD
    Albany, New York
  • Sookyong Koh, MD, PhD
    Atlanta, Georgia
  • Barbara Kroner, MPH, PhD
    Rockville, Maryland
  • W. Curt LaFrance, Jr., MD, MPH
    Providence, Rhode Island
  • Paul M. Levisohn, MD
    Aurora, Colorado
  • Jeffrey Loeb MD, PhD
    Chicago, Illinois
  • Gary McLean, RN, NRP
    Boise, Idaho
  • Wendy Miller, PhD, RN, CCRN
    Indianapolis, Indiana
  • Keith Nagle, MD
    Burlington, Vermont
  • Lorraine Newborn-Palmer, BSN, MS, RN, CNRN, CBIS
    Baltimore, Maryland
  • Douglas Nordli, Jr., MD
    Los Angeles, California
  • Alison Pack, MD, MPH
    New York, New York
  • Karen Parko, MD
    San Francisco, California
  • Michael Scott Perry, MD
    Fort Worth, Texas
  • Serge JC Pierre-Louis, MD, MPH
    Chicago, Illinois
  • Scott Rifleman, NREMT-P
    Stevens Point, Wisconsin
  • William Rosenfeld, MD
    Chesterfield, Missouri
  • Stephan Schuele, MD, MPH
    Chicago, Illinois
  • Rebecca J. Schultz, PhD, RN, CPNP
    Houston, Texas
  • Chris Shandera
    Boise, Idaho
  • Beth Sheidley, MS, CGC
    Boston, MA
  • Ivan Soltesz, PhD
    Stanford, California
  • John Stern, MD
    Los Angeles, California
  • William Tatum, DO
    Jacksonville, Florida
  • James W. Wheless, MD
    Memphis, Tennessee
  • Korwyn L. Williams, MD
    Phoenix, Arizona
  • Richard S. Zimmerman, MD
    Phoenix, Arizona

Non-Voting Liaisons

Vicky Holets Whittemore, PhD
Bethesda, Maryland

Pat Trudeau, R. EEG/T, CLTM
Marshfield, Wisconsin

Staff Support

Brandy Fureman, PhD
Vice President of Research and New Therapies
Landover, Maryland

Angela Hansell
Research and Executive Office Administrator
Landover, Maryland

Liz Schreiber
Program Manager
Landover, Maryland