State Driving Laws Database

Driver Information By State

Every state regulates driver's license eligibility of persons with certain medical conditions. The most common requirement for people with epilepsy is that they be seizure free for a specific period of time and submit a physician's evaluation of their ability to drive safely. Another common requirement is the periodic submission of medical reports, in some states for a specified period of time and in others for as long as the person remains licensed.

Select the state you want to find information about, or if you are moving and would like to compare two states' driving laws side by side? Choose the two states below to compare.

LawSouth Carolina
DMV Appeal of License DenialYes
Doctors to Report EpilepsyNo
Periodic Medical Updates Required After Licensing At 6 months, then annually for 3 years
Seizure-Free Period6 months

South Carolina Driver Licensing Laws

In order for a person with epilepsy to be eligible for a driver's license, the individual must be seizure-free for a period of 6 months prior to the application. The applicant must also submit a physician's statement regarding his or her condition. If the Department of Motor Vehicles has good cause to believe that a licensee is incompetent for unfit to safely operate a motor vehicle due to physical or mental disabilities, upon written notice of at least ten days, the licensee may be required to undergo additional medical evaluations. [S. C. CODE ANN. REGS. § 56-1-270 (2011)]. All medical information is reviewed by the Medical Advisory Board of the Department of Public Safety. [S. C. CODE ANN. REGS. § 56-1-221]. The Board then determines whether the person may retain or be issued a license, revoke or be denied a license, or obtain a license with restrictions. [S. C. CODE ANN. REGS. § 56-1-170]. A physician who provides medical information is not guaranteed immunity from liability for damages arising out of an accident caused by a seizure. After 6 months, the applicant is required to submit a medical report to the Department. Thereafter, medical reports are required once a year for 3 years. To appeal a decision to deny or revoke a license, the person must request a departmental hearing within 10 days of the decision. If the revocation is sustained, the driver has 30 days within which to request a review by the Circuit Court [S. C. CODE ANN. REGS. §§ 56-1-370, 56-1-410]. A person's license which is revoked or suspended for medical reasons is distinguished in their records from those whose license may be suspended or revoked for driving violations.

Commercial Driving

South Carolina has adopted the federal requirements regarding the licensing of truck drivers. Persons with epilepsy are not approved for large or passenger-for-hire vehicles carrying more than 16 passengers. Individuals must meet the standards for a personal vehicle license to be eligible to drive a taxi or buses carrying fewer than 16 passengers.

South Carolina Identification Card

A non-driver may obtain an identification card through the Department of Public Safety by submitting proper identification and paying a $5.00 fee [S. C. CODE ANN. REGS § 57-3-910].

South Carolina Reporting

There is no statutory provision requiring physicians to report to a central state agency patients who have been treated for or diagnosed as having epilepsy.

© 2014 Epilepsy Foundation. All rights reserved. This summary was developed for informational purposes by the Epilepsy Foundation and reflects a review of data available as of August 2014. Information is subject to change. This summary is not a substitute for legal advice. For further information, please consult your state Department of Motor Vehicles.

Our Mission

The mission of the Epilepsy Foundation is to lead the fight to overcome the challenges of living with epilepsy and to accelerate therapies to stop seizures, find cures, and save lives.

 
24/7 helpline